Life’s a Blog


Must Listen: Charles Hamilton
July 14, 2009, 5:10 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m usually pretty quick to rule out somewhat newer artists as I’ve been let down on multiple occasions givin todays’ hip-hop climate and the types of content being produced.

After hearing DJ Critical Hype’s The Art of Slaughterhouse mixtape I was determined to find out who produced the original beat for Royce’s “I owe you” (verses from Death is Certain)

I couldn’t get to the bottom until I came across the answer in Charles Hamilton’s Brooklyn Girls. After some more research not only did I discover that Charles Hamilton despite his rather unorthodox flow is a beast on the mic, he’s also proving to be one of my favorite new producers. A lot of hip-hop fans frown on sampling but I’m a huge fan. Charles is creative, unique and very much worth a listen.

Charles Hamilton is 21 years old on Interscope and has released 9 mixtapes to date (I believe). He’s extremely talented musically as a whole and is definitely an artist to watch for in the future.
If you get a chance I suggest you pick up The Pink Lavalamp, Well…Isnt this awkward and Outside Looking.

“When I sample, I’m not just doing it to sound good. I’m trying to tell a story. To convey an emotion. If I sampled it, there is a reason I sampled it. I believe that music is based on moments, and that there are some moments that people may have missed back in the day. They may have even missed it a year ago. When I sample, I’m giving the artist their respect, while simultaneously creating something new”


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

