Life’s a Blog


SHAD- Email/I Dont Really Like To/ Brother/ Freestyle
April 21, 2009, 12:47 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

It’s rare that you’ll stumble across a person that you truley admire.
When I first listened to Shad I knew I would be a life long fan.

Being the loser/huge fan I am I sent him an email wondering if it was even his email to begin with.
I got a response and it was as follows:

Hey Shad.

I don’t know if you actually check this e-mail or if it’s yours at all but I thought it was worth a shot.
I just wanted to start off by introducing myself. My name Scott Boniface, I’m 19 years old and am in my last year of college at Seneca@York studying advertising and currently am living in Toronto. I’m an advertising copywriter and a dedicated fan of hip hop and will remain for the rest of my life.

I’m sure you get this quite often and frequently but I just needed to let you know about the impact your music, attitude and general “swagger” has had and continues to have on my life everyday.

In terms of albums that I can listen to every song and get the passion and feeling for the record your in my top 3 of all time.
Eminem- Infinite
Nas- Illmatic
Shad- The Old Prince

You may not agree, or think that I don’t listen to much hip-hop but that couldn’t be further from the truth.
Your music speaks to me and has helped me gain a positive outlook on life and the people around me.
You’ve taught me to be myself and strive for greatness and I appreciate that more than you can know.

I listen to your album at least once everyday. Your relentless flow, truth in your lyrics and unbelievable style comes together to make something amazing that truly has a positive impact on my life.

So more or less I just wanted to say thank you, whoever is reading this.
The influence you’ve had on my life has allowed me to be proud of who I am and live everyday as if it was my last.

Thanks Shad.

-Scott Boniface

SHAD’S RESPONSE Scott man,

I gotta thank you most sincerely and tell you that its an absolute honour to be a part of your life through music… Definitely helps keep me pushing forward as well.
All the best to you man… Thanks again for that amazing note. Can’t thank you enough…

Peace – Shad

As you can see, It’s insane to be able to interact that openly with someone who you admire so much. I hope to one day share the same feeling with someone else.

I’m very aware that I was jocking him extremely hard.
But it’s honestly how I felt.

Either way I wont lie, Now I listen to his tracks with a little extra head nod.

Shad ” I Don’t Really Like To”

Shad  “Brother (Watching)”

Shad- “Rewind it again and again freestyle”

You know that was insane.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

